Brian Wilson Taps Musical Peers for ‘No Pier Pressure’

Image 1

Brian Wilson has assembled an all-star supporting cast for his new album, No Pier Pressure, which is scheduled to arrive on April 7th via Capitol Records. Along with performances from a number of longtime musical peers, including several of his former Beach Boys bandmates, Wilson’s new LP boasts Kacey Musgraves, fun.’s Nate Ruess and She & Him’s Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward.

Wilson began working on his 11th solo LP with longtime collaborator Joe Thomas in 2012 as the Beach Boys reunited for their 50th anniversary, touring the country and releasing a new album, That’s Why God Made the Radio. Initially, Wilson intended to record his new songs with the Beach Boys, but when the songwriter and group parted ways once again, he sought out guest singers to help finish the job.

The Beach Boys that did make the cut include Al Jardine, David Marks and Blondie Chaplin, while Jardine’s son Matt also partook in the sessions along with guitarist and Beach Boys’ “vice principal” Jeffrey Foskett. Along with rising stars like Musgraves and Ruess, Wilson also brought in Capitol Cities’ Sebu Simonian, singer Peter Hollens and trumpet player Mark Isham. No Pier Pressure also features a number of famed session musicians, including Don Was, Dean Parks, Jim Keltner and Kenny Aronoff, as well as members of Wilson’s touring band Scott Bennett, Paul Mertens, Darian Sahanaja, and Probyn Gregory.

Image 2

In an interview with Rolling Stone last summer, Wilson revealed he’d also called in artists like Frank Ocean and Lana Del Rey for the No Pier Pressure sessions (the former’s contribution did not make the cut, and though the latter reportedly sang on album track “The Last Song,” she does not appear on the final version of the track). Famous for demanding the most out of his musicians and singers in the studios, Wilson spoke about working with Musgraves on “Guess You Had to Be There”: “When it’s good it’s good, when it’s not — do it again. But after three tries, Kacey nailed it. I like the way she just slides over the notes — she has a very cool sound.”

No Pier Pressure will be available both digitally and on CD as either a 13-track standard edition or 16-track deluxe edition (Wilson will release “Don’t Worry,” “Somewhere Quiet,” and “I’m Feeling Sad” as bonus cuts). The 16-track version will also be released as a two-LP set pressed on 180-gram vinyl.

Source: RollingStone Magazine

media WMV RealPlayer Winamp Quicktime